Charlie the Dog’s lesson in Flow

Français cadien: Pictogram de Dog Français : P...

Don’t jack this flow. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was biking the mutt around the condo complex today

As usual, I was dutiful but resentful about the task.  I was cruising slowly and he suddenly stops, giving himself a drastic jerk on his neck.  I was a bit sympathetic and thought that I should be more conscientious about making sure I was not jacking his flow too hard– but a dog should follow right?  I ambled forward on the bike, half-heartedly resolving to start flowing with the damn dog sometimes.

Instant karma’s a bitch because just as I stroked the pedal again, Charlie stopped to take a dump in the middle of the road.  The leash yanked my handle bars sideways, moving the bike hard to the left, leaving me flopping to my back.  It seems there is some sort of electric terminal in your lower back because the blow shot about a 1000-volt joke up my spine into all my limbs.  It felt like my whole body was made of whatever is in your funny bone.

As I swore in pain, I decided to take it easy on the dog.  Apparently I had pulled him away from this pressing task a bit earlier and he was not up to trotting around in the middle of a serious bowel movement. His earlier stop was a warning shot.

The incident came on the heals of one of those discussions you have with your spouse about priorities and how to use the time you want to share.  When you have eight common children, a remodel going on, two full-time jobs, and a dog, time is a precious commodity which is hard to spend freely without debate.  But in an equal relationship, we vacillate between the dog being pulled along and the human jacking his flow in the middle of a poop.  Human nature calls and gives us needs and priorities, but we are tied to others, who may have needs we just don’t empathize with.  And if we are tied with them–as we want to be–sometimes jacking their flow nonchalantly will come back to hit us hard.

Thinking back, Charlie was no dummy. He knew he was going to get jacked the first time he stopped, he was just willing to have his head snapped around by the leash because he had to go.  I listened but did not act quickly.  I had learned the lesson, but I just resolved to do something about it in the future.   But the real lesson is that you can’t flow against  nature — human or dog– without risking nature seriously jacking your flow.   When you are tied together with another being, by love or necessity, you have to find a way to flow together– or end up in the middle of the street watching a dog unpleasantly take an emergency dump– or whatever that translates to in human relationships.

 

Leave a Reply

