Let’s stoke the flames

The war-party is assuredly right in affirming and reaffirming that the martial virtues, although originally gain by the race through war, are absolute and permanent human goods. Patriotic pride and ambition in their military form are, after all, only specifications of a more general competitive passion. They are its first form, but that is no reason for supposing them to be its last form.

Men are now proud of belonging to a conquering nation, and without a murmur they lay down their persons and their wealth, if by so doing they may fend off subjection. But who can be sure that other aspects of one’s country may not, with time and education and suggestion enough, come to be regarded with similarly effective feelings of pride and shame? Why should men not some day feel that is it worth a blood-tax to belong to a collectivity superior in any respect? Why should they not blush with indignant shame if the community that owns them is vile in any way whatsoever?

Individuals, daily more numerous, now feel this civic passion. It is only a question of blowing on the spark until the whole population gets incandescent, and on the ruins of the old morals of military honor, a stable system of morals of civic honor builds itself up. What the whole community comes to believe in grasps the individual as in a vise. The war-function has grasped us so far; but the constructive interests may some day seem no less imperative, and impose on the individual a hardly lighter burden.

3 responses to “Let’s stoke the flames

  1. Jared, for what it is worth, and I know I don’t need to share these personal details with you, but yesterday I came in to find my firm failed to pay our internet and phone bill. I work in a satellite office, and this is not the first time that happened. It pissed me off to no end. I had two scheduled (settled and was in the process of vacating them, but as of yesterday morning, still on) phone hearings scheduled. I couldn’t call or get calls, faxes, etc. You can imagine the frustration and embarrassment, and I live an hour away, so to drive into that was even worse.

    This development yesterday, as stated, irked me greatly. Once they got it up, it was damn near impossible to focus on work, and it so again today.

    As an attorney, I hate that, but I am human. I am also looking for a new, reliable place to ply my trade, but in Wyoming (where I live) opportunities are limited. I’m growing ever more frustrated with this set up.

    So, I guess, what’s the point? Sorry for being a pain in the ass yesterday. Not that you care or that you can do anything about it, but at least you’ll know what I faced yesterday.

  2. That sounds like some bullshit. I can’t imagine trying to be an attorney in a rural area. I had a solo practice in Utah for several years and understand the difficulties in getting legal work that is steady, rewarding, and not filled with drama.

    I’ve been doing criminal appeals work for the past five years. I had given up on practicing law for a while, I got burnt out on litigation, but this got me back into the game. All I do is read trial transcripts and write appellate briefs. The work is not bad, it is almost leisurely compared to litigation, but I think it makes me a bit too analytic and argumentative at times. (Just ask the women that live with me! They have all but banished me from their conversations. 🙂 ) I blog to try to work out some of that angst and focus my thoughts on positive things, sometimes the angst percolates into the writing.

    I have noticed lately that sometimes I put myself into this overly serious mode, struggling to practice sincerity amid the bullshit. Please don’t take it personally, I have really appreciated your participation in the conversation.

  3. Yeah, its bullshit alright. The firm has also ‘forgotten’ to pay our rent, and when the landlord was a municipal judge, well… I’m ready to move on.

    Anyway, I hear you about family. I’ve been accused more than once of being too much of an attorney in some situations, ie a pain. Goes with the territory, I suppose.

    I’m in that serious mode now. Not sure what it is, but I am there…

    I do litigation, mostly. Collection work and insurance subrogation stuff is the majority of my work. Pretty vanilla. Posting helps me in much the same way you describe. Gives me an out to focus when I need to, if that makes sense.

    Anyway, I don’t take too much too personally. I also don’t hold grudges, so just don’t call me an ass or anything and we’re all good 🙂

    I appreciate your efforts to work through these tough issues. No doubt, they are difficult and don’t lend themselves to quick, easy answers. We’ve been discussing these for thousands of years. Won’t stop now…

Leave a Reply

